Hill wins third NBA sportsmanship award

April 26, 2010 at 3:00 PM
| License Photo

NEW YORK, April 26 (UPI) -- Phoenix swingman Grant Hill was voted the winner of the Joe Dumars Trophy, given to the NBA player who reflects the ideals of sportsmanship.

Hill was listed first on 96 of the 315 ballots of sports writers and broadcasters who cover the NBA, the league said Monday. Players received five points for a first-place mention, three for second and one for third. Hill totaled 2,485 points.


Denver's Chauncey Billups, with 79 first-place votes and 2,155 points, was second and Boston's Ray Allen (1,983) was third.

Hill, who also won the award in 2004 and 2008, is the first three-time recipient of the NBA's sportsmanship award.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
WATCH: Umpire exits after hit in head with bat
Michael Jordan vetoed a Tracy McGrady for Scottie Pippen trade
WATCH: Irish soccer fans dent car roof, immediately fix it
Paulina Gretzky's dress upstages Dustin Johnson's U.S. Open win
Swedish soccer player removed from game for farting