Harvick edges McMurray at Talladega

April 25, 2010 at 6:48 PM

TALLADEGA, Ala., April 25 (UPI) -- Kevin Harvick barely got by Jamie McMurray to win the Aaron's 499 Sunday at Talladega, Ala., Superspeedway, his first Sprint Cup win in 115 races.

Havrick nosed out McMurray at the finish line following a third try for a green-white-checkered finish, besting him by a mere 0.011 seconds in a thrilling race that saw a NASCAR record-setting 88 lead changes among 29 drivers.

The former record of 75 lead changes was also set at Talladega in 1984's race.

Harvick won a Sprint Cup crown for the first since the 2007 Daytona 500.

Third place went to Juan Pablo Montoya, while Denny Hamlin and Mark Martin rounded out the top five finishers.

Jimmie Johnson -- Talladega's four-time defending champ -- and Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jeff Gordon each crashed in separate incidents in the late going.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for more news from UPI.com
Related UPI Stories
share with facebook
share with twitter
Trending Stories