Basketball Hall of Fame finalists named

Feb. 12, 2010 at 2:52 PM
| License Photo

DALLAS, Feb. 12 (UPI) -- Karl Malone and Scottie Pippen led the finalists Friday for the 2010 Basketball Hall of Fame class.

They were among the members of the 1992 "Dream Team" that easily won a gold medal at the Barcelona Summer Games.

Also named Friday were Chris Mullin, another Dream Team member, Dennis Johnson, Bernard King, Jamaal Wilkes, Los Angeles Lakers owner Jerry Buss, legendary Jersey City, N.J., high school coach Bob Hurley Sr. and coaches Don Nelson and Tex Winter, a longtime assistant with Chicago and the Lakers.

Veterans Committee finalists are Gus Johnson and Richie Guerin, former WNBA star Cynthia Cooper, college coach Harley Redin and the All-American Red Heads, the first women's professional basketball team.

The 2010 selections will be announced April 5 in Indianapolis before the men's NCAA championship game.

A finalist needs 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee for election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
SB50: Denver Broncos face tough call at QB in 2016
Johnny Manziel's ex-girlfriend claims he hit her
NFLPA hopes to have independent arbitration for player discipline next season
Watch every star-studded Super Bowl commercial of 2016
Group recreates 'Mario Kart' video game at UK mall