USA Basketball announces national team

Feb. 10, 2010 at 12:32 PM
1 of 3
| License Photo

COLORADO SPRINGS, Feb. 10 (UPI) -- LeBron James and Kobe Bryant, who helped the U.S. team to the Olympic gold medal in 2008, are among 27 NBA players named to the USA Basketball National Team.

The team will again be coached by Duke Coach Mike Krzyzewski and will include nine players from the 2008 team, USA Basketball said Wednesday.

"I'm really excited about the players who were selected and who committed to be part of the 2010-12 USA National Team," Krzyzewski said. "I'm especially pleased that so many members of the 2006-08 team wanted and were able to return. We know from our prior experiences that continuity, team work, and player versatility are critical parts to assembling a team that will be successful."

In addition to James, who plays for the Cleveland Cavaliers, and Bryant, a member of the Los Angeles Lakers, returning NBA players are Denver's Carmelo Anthony, Utah's Carlos Boozer and Deron Williams, Toronto's Chris Bosh, Orlando's Dwight Howard, New Orleans' Chris Paul and Miami's Dwyane Wade.

Also on the team are the Lakers' Lamar Odom, Phoenix's Amare Stoudemire, Portland's LaMarcus Aldridge, Denver's Chauncey Billups, Oklahoma City's Kevin Durant and Russell Westbrook, Memphis's Rudy Gay and O.J. Mayo, the Los Angeles Clippers' Eric Gordon, Indiana's Danny Granger, Philadelphia's Andre Iguodala, Minnesota's Al Jefferson and Kevin Love, the New York Knicks' David Lee, the New Jersey Nets' Brook Lopez, Boston's Kendrick Perkins, Chicago's Derrick Rose and Charlotte's Gerald Wallace.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
SB50: Denver Broncos face tough call at QB in 2016
Johnny Manziel's ex-girlfriend claims he hit her
NFLPA hopes to have independent arbitration for player discipline next season
Watch every star-studded Super Bowl commercial of 2016
Group recreates 'Mario Kart' video game at UK mall