Smith, Rice lead Hall of Fame nominees

Sept. 19, 2009 at 7:50 PM

CANTON, Ohio, Sept. 19 (UPI) -- Emmitt Smith and Jerry Rice headline the nominees for the 2010 NFL Hall of Fame class announced Saturday in Canton, Ohio.

Smith and Rice, both Super Bowl MVPs, were eligible for the first time, as were wide receiver Tim Brown, quarterback Rich Gannon, running back Eddie George, defensive back Aeneas Williams and place-kicker Gary Anderson.

They were among 131 players, coaches and contributors on the list of nominees.

Smith, the NFL's all-time leading rusher, gained 18,355 yards on an all-time high 4,409 attempts.

He was the 17th overall pick by the Cowboys in the 1990 NFL Draft and became the first player in league history to rush for 1,400 yards in five straight seasons and the first with 10,000 career rushing yards and 400 career receptions. He scored 164 career rushing touchdowns.

Rice is the NFL's all-time leading receiver with 22,895 receiving yards on 1,549 catches with 197 touchdown receptions in 20 seasons.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
SB50: Denver Broncos face tough call at QB in 2016
Johnny Manziel's ex-girlfriend claims he hit her
NFLPA hopes to have independent arbitration for player discipline next season
Watch every star-studded Super Bowl commercial of 2016
Group recreates 'Mario Kart' video game at UK mall