Sooners' Griffin voted player of the year

March 30, 2009 at 11:56 AM

ST. LOUIS, March 30 (UPI) -- Oklahoma sophomore Blake Griffin was the unanimous choice for collegiate player of the year in voting by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Griffin, a 6-foot-10-inch center, is the first Oklahoma Sooner to win the award, which is named for Hall of Fame basketball player Oscar Robertson. Griffin will formally receive the award at a USBWA awards breakfast Friday at the Detroit Athletic Club.

Griffin led the nation in rebounding (14.4 a game) and the Big 12 Conference in scoring (22.7 points a game) in helping the Sooners to a 30-6 record. Oklahoma's season came to an end Sunday with a 72-60 loss to North Carolina in the NCAA South Region final. Griffin scored 23 points and had 16 rebounds in the game.

Griffin set an Oklahoma record with 25 double-doubles during the regular season and set a conference record with 13 games of at least 20 points and 15 rebounds.

Griffin came out on top in voting from a slate of 15 finalists selected by the USBWA.

The USBWA earlier announced that Kansas's Bill Self would be given its Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award.

Latest Headlines