Harvick wins Budweiser Sprint Shootout

Feb. 8, 2009 at 12:12 AM

DAYTON BEACH, Fla., Feb. 8 (UPI) -- Kevin Harvick drove past Jamie McMurray on the final lap Saturday night to win the Budweiser Shootout Sprint at Daytona International Speedway.

Harvick, who has not won a Sprint Cup Series points-paying race since the 2007 Daytona 500, pulled ahead of McMurray just before an accident involving Jimmie Johnson, Denny Hamlin and Casey Mears occurred, ending the pre-season, non-points event under caution.

Harvick led only the final lap after falling out of lead draft during the early stages of the race.

McMurray held on for a second-place finish. Tony Stewart, in his debut as driver and co-owner of the No.14 Chevrolet, finished third.

Jeff Gordon and AJ Allmendinger rounded out the top-five. Johnson, the three-time defending series champion, came in 14th.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
Alabama football: Crimson Tide host Arkansas, hope to continue momentum from Georgia game
St. Louis Rams' Stedman Bailey fined for 'sleeping' on the job
Toronto Maple Leafs lose in Mike Babcock's debut, earn Montreal Canadians' respect
Johnny Manziel's grandfather loses home in 'suspicious' fire