NASCAR announces hall of fame process

Jan. 22, 2009 at 3:27 PM

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla., Jan. 22 (UPI) -- NASCAR will include five inductees annually when its hall of fame opens in 2010 in Charlotte, N.C.

The inductees will be selected by a voting panel made up of NASCAR industry leaders, manufacturer representatives, former competitors, the media and fans.

Former drivers must have competed 10 years in NASCAR and be retired from the sport for a minimum of three years to be eligible.

Non-drivers qualify after working at least 10 years in the industry.

After a 20-member nominating committee selects its list of candidates, the voting will call for 48 ballots.

"With the excitement already building about the physical layout of the Hall of Fame, this will add to the excitement on another front, regarding this impressive, historic project," said NASCAR chairman and chief executive officer Brian France. "We have established an orderly induction process that is inclusive, involving various industry constituencies -- most importantly, the fans."

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Bruins get Zac Rinaldo from Flyers for 2017 pick
Cleveland Indians rookie Anderson hurls gem against Tampa Bay Rays
Moreland, Gallo lead Texas Rangers in rout of Baltimore Orioles
Lucroy, Milwaukee Brewers rally past Philadelphia Phillies
Hamilton, Cincinnati Reds hold off Minnesota Twins