Seattle's Niehaus wins Frick Award

Feb. 19, 2008 at 3:42 PM   |   Comments

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y., Feb. 19 (UPI) -- Dave Niehaus, who has broadcast Seattle Mariners games since the team began play in 1977, has been selected to receive the Ford C. Frick Award.

The Frick Award is given annually for major contributions to baseball broadcasting. The presentation of the award will be during Baseball Hall of Fame induction ceremonies July 27 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Heading into the 2008 season, Niehaus, who turned 73 Tuesday, had broadcast 4,817 of the 4,899 Mariners games played in the last 31 seasons.

"Dave Niehaus is the heartbeat of Mariners baseball," said Dale Petroskey, president of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. "Since Day One, he has painted a picture of baseball and summer in Seattle better than anyone ever has. Every Mariners fan knows his style and signature calls such as 'My, Oh My!' and 'It Will Fly Away!'"

Others to be honored at the Hall of Fame this summer are pitcher Rich "Goose" Gossage; veterans committee electees Barney Dreyfuss, Bowie Kuhn, Walter O'Malley, Billy Southworth and Dick Williams, and the late Larry Whiteside, formerly of The Boston Globe, who will be honored as the winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award, given annually to a writer for meritorious contributions to baseball.

© 2008 United Press International, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Any reproduction, republication, redistribution and/or modification of any UPI content is expressly prohibited without UPI's prior written consent.
Recommended UPI Stories
Featured UPI Collection
2014: The Year in Music [PHOTOS]

2014: The Year in Music [PHOTOS]

Most Popular
Mo'ne Davis becomes first Little League player to make cover of Sports Illustrated
Giants win protest, will finish game at Wrigley
Angels P Richards leaves game
Steelers bring back Keisel
Broncos WR Norwood tears ACL, done for year
Trending News