Finalists named for Heisman

Dec. 5, 2007 at 9:29 PM

NEW YORK, Dec. 5 (UPI) -- Darren McFadden, Tim Tebow, Chase Daniel and Colt Brennan were named Wednesday as finalists for the 2007 Heisman Trophy.

The award, which goes to the nation's outstanding college football player, will be handed out Saturday by the Downtown Athletic Club in New York.

McFadden, last year's Heisman runner-up to Troy Smith, has run for 1,725 yards with 15 touchdowns in 12 games for Arkansas. He set an SEC record with 321 rushing yards in a game Nov. 3 against South Carolina. No Arkansas player has ever won the Heisman.

Tebow, quarterback at Florida, became the first player in major college football to both throw and run for at least 20 touchdowns. He has 3,132 passing yards with 29 touchdowns. He would be the first sophomore to win the award.

Daniel, Missouri's quarterback, has thrown for 4,170 yards, third-most in the country, with 33 touchdowns and 10 interceptions in 13 games this season.

Hawaii's Brennan has completed 71.4 percent of his passes for 4,174 yards, second-most in the nation, with 38 touchdowns and 14 interceptions in 11 games.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Bruins get Zac Rinaldo from Flyers for 2017 pick
Washington Capitals re-sign Jay Beagle for 3 more years
Cleveland Indians rookie Anderson hurls gem against Tampa Bay Rays
Moreland, Gallo lead Texas Rangers in rout of Baltimore Orioles
Hamilton, Cincinnati Reds hold off Minnesota Twins