Rasmussen takes control of Tour de France

July 15, 2007 at 1:29 PM

TIGNES, France, July 15 (UPI) -- Danish cyclist Michael Rasmussen is now the overall leader in the Tour de France after winning the eighth stage of the international event Sunday.

Rasmussen finished two minutes and 47 seconds ahead of Spanish cyclist Iban Mayo in Sunday's 102-mile stage, allowing him to take the yellow jersey away from German competitor Linus Gerdemann.

Gerdemann now trails Rasmussen by 43 seconds overall, while Mayo remains two minutes and 39 seconds behind the top spot in third.

Spaniard Alejandro Valverde rounded out the top three finishers in the latest leg from Le Grand-Bornand to Tignes.

U.S. cyclist Levi Leipheimer took 12th in the eighth stage, keeping the Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team competitor 12th in the overall standings.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Women's World Cup: U.S. inspired for rematch vs. Japan
UPI Horse Racing Weekend Preview
Report: Los Angeles Lakers on verge of acquiring Hibbert
Dallas Mavericks land DeAndre Jordan
San Antonio Spurs optimistic about Ginobili returning