Crosby named NHL's MVP

June 14, 2007 at 11:16 PM

TORONTO, June 14 (UPI) -- Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby was named the National Hockey League's most valuable player Thursday night as the league's top individual honors were awarded.

Crosby won the Hart Memorial Trophy that goes to the MVP. Members of the NHL Players Association also voted Crosby their MVP, which brought him the Lester B. Pearson Award.

The winner of the Hart Trophy is determined by the Professional Hockey Writer's Association.

The Penguins' star picked up the Art Ross Trophy as well, the award that goes to the league's leading scorer.

Other awards and their winners:

-- Vezina Trophy (leading goaltender): Martin Brodeur, New Jersey.

-- Calder Trophy (leading rookie): Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh.

-- Norris Trophy (leading defenseman): Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit.

-- Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship): Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit.

-- Frank Selke Trophy (leading defensive forward): Rod Brind'Amour, Carolina.

-- Jack Adams Award (leading coach): Alain Vigneault, Vancouver.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
UPI horse racing roundup
Serena Williams rolls in Wimbledon opener
Novak Djokovic wins Wimbledon opener
Baltimore Orioles open up series with Texas Rangers
Washington Capitals re-sign Jay Beagle for 3 more years