Brees, Tomlinson are NFL's Men of the Year

Feb. 2, 2007 at 3:47 PM   |   Comments

MIAMI, Feb. 2 (UPI) -- New Orleans' Drew Brees and San Diego's LaDainian Tomlinson have been selected the co-winners of the NFL's Walter Payton Man of the Year award.

The honor is given annually to note the accomplishments of players both on and off the field. It is named for late NFL running back Walter Payton of the Chicago Bears.

Brees led the NFL with 4,418 passing yards and topped the NFC with 26 touchdown passes and a 96.2 quarterback rating in leading the Saints to their first division title in six seasons.

Off the field Brees associated with rebuilding efforts in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina and, with teammate Deuce McAllister, the NFL Youth Education Town and Pan American Football Field. Brees also is the host of a golf tournament that raises funds for San Diego Children's Hospital and Cancer Research.

Tomlinson, the league's leading rusher this season, set single-season NFL records for touchdowns and points as the Chargers won the AFC West.

He provides game tickets and a post-game dinner for children in San Diego and has his name on a scholarship that helps 25 college-bound students. Tomlinson also established a camp that stresses character-building in children.

© 2007 United Press International, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Any reproduction, republication, redistribution and/or modification of any UPI content is expressly prohibited without UPI's prior written consent.
Recommended UPI Stories
Featured UPI Collection
Celebrity Couples of 2014 [PHOTOS]

Celebrity Couples of 2014 [PHOTOS]

Most Popular
Welbeck makes Arsenal switch
Report: Watt, Texans agree to terms on 6-year, $100M deal
Spangenberg lifts Padres over D-backs
Span homers twice as Nationals beat Dodgers
A's get it Dunn against Mariners
Trending News