Eclipse finalists announced

Jan. 5, 2006 at 8:32 PM

NEW YORK, Jan. 5 (UPI) -- Finalists were announced Thursday for the 2005 Eclipse Awards, recognizing the outstanding performers in thoroughbred racing.

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, the National Turf Writers Association and Daily Racing Form announced the finalists in New York. The finalists, listed by category, are:

Two-Year-Old Male: First Samurai, Henny Hughes, Stevie Wonderboy

Two-Year-Old Female: Adieu, Folklore, Wild Fit

Three-Year-Old Male: Afleet Alex, Flower Alley, Giacomo

Three-Year-Old Female: Round Pond, Smuggler, Summerly

Older Male: Borrego, Rock Hard Ten, Saint Liam

Older Female: Ashado, Pleasant Home, Stellar Jayne

Sprinter: Lost in the Fog, Saratoga County, Silver Train

Male Turf Horse: Artie Schiller, Leroidesanimaux, Shirocco

Female Turf Horse: Cesario, Intercontinental, Megahertz

Steeplechase: Hirapour, McDynamo, Sur La Tete

Owner: Michael Gill, Live Oak Plantation, Melnyk Racing Stables Inc.

Breeder: Adena Springs, Edward P. Evans, Live Oak Stud

Trainer: Steve Asmussen, Robert Frankel, Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Jerry Bailey, Edgar Prado, John Velazquez

Apprentice Jockey: Channing Hill, Justin Stein, Emma-Jayne Wilson

NTRA Commissioner D.G. Van Clief Jr. will present the Horse of the Year trophy at the 35th annual Eclipse Awards ceremony on Jan. 23 in Beverly Hills, Calif., which will be televised over the TVG cable channel.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Johnny Manziel has chance to start for Cleveland Browns
Boston Red Sox trade OF Shane Victorino to Los Angeles Angels
Houston Texans place Jadeveon Clowney on PUP
Kolten Wong's slam lifts St. Louis Cardinals past Cincinnati Reds
Kris Bryant walkoff homer lifts Chicago Cubs past Colorado Rockies