A.J. Hawk earns Lombardi Award

Dec. 8, 2005 at 2:08 AM

HOUSTON, Dec. 8 (UPI) -- Ohio State linebacker A.J. Hawk Wednesday was named winner of the 2005 Lombardi Award, given annually to the top lineman or linebacker in college football.

He was a semi-finalist for the award last year.


Hawk, a senior, led the Buckeyes in tackles in each of the last three seasons. This season, he rang up 60 solo tackles, 7½ sacks, one interception and scored one touchdown. He is the first Buckeye finalist since Andy Katzenmoyer in both 1997 and 1998, and the fifth OSU player to win the award and joins former Buckeyes Jim Stillwagon, who won the inaugural award in 1970, John Hicks, who won in 1973, Chris Spielman, who won in 1987, and Orlando Pace, who is the only repeat winner in 1995 and 1996.

Hawk beat out Louisville defensive end Elvis Dumervil, Texas defensive tackle Rod Wright and Penn State linebacker Paul Posluszny.

Georgia's David Pollack was named winner of the award last year.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
WATCH: Umpire exits after hit in head with bat
Michael Jordan vetoed a Tracy McGrady for Scottie Pippen trade
WATCH: Irish soccer fans dent car roof, immediately fix it
Paulina Gretzky's dress upstages Dustin Johnson's U.S. Open win
Swedish soccer player removed from game for farting