Basketball Hall of Fame finalists named

Feb. 20, 2005 at 4:35 PM

DENVER, Feb. 20 (UPI) -- The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Sunday announced the 16 finalists for induction into the 2005 class.

The list includes Big East coaches Jim Boeheim of Syracuse and Jim Calhoun of Connecticut.


Boeheim led his team to the 2003 NCAA championship, eight Big East regular season titles and three conference tournament crowns. He had Syracuse in three Final Fours.

Calhoun guided Connecticut to two NCAA titles (1999, 2004) and 17 straight postseason tournaments.

The two coaches are joined on the Hall of Fame ballot by former NBA stars Joe Dumars and Dominique Wilkins.

Former coach and current TV analyst Hubie Brown is up for consideration as a contributor to the game.

Also on the list are previous finalists Bernard King, Maurice Cheeks, Adrian Dantley, Dennis Johnson, and Chet Walker. In addition, Italian coach Sandro Gamba, Brazilian player Hortencia Marcari; player John Issacs; and contributor John Kerr from the Veterans Screening Committee are on the ballot.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
WATCH: Umpire exits after hit in head with bat
Michael Jordan vetoed a Tracy McGrady for Scottie Pippen trade
WATCH: Irish soccer fans dent car roof, immediately fix it
Paulina Gretzky's dress upstages Dustin Johnson's U.S. Open win
Swedish soccer player removed from game for farting