Nine Vikings fined for Bears altercation

Oct. 4, 2004 at 8:14 PM

NEW YORK, Oct. 4 (UPI) -- The National Football League handed down fines to 15 players involved in a scuffle between the Minnesota Vikings and Chicago Bears on Sept. 26.

The harshest penalty went to Nate Burleson, who had a $7,500 fine levied against him for removing a Chicago player's helmet. A hit by Bears safety Todd Johnson on Burleson started the fracas, but Johnson was not disciplined by the league.

Minnesota receiver Randy Moss was fined $5,000. Quarterback Daunte Culpepper, center Cory Withrow, receiver Keenan Howry, guard Chris Liwienski, tackle Bryant McKinnie and tight end Sean Berton -- all from the Vikings -- were fined $2,500 each.

Vikings running back Onterrio Smith was fined $1,000.

On the Bears side: corners R.W. McQuarters and Todd McMillon, defensive tackles Tommie Harris and Ian Scott, safety Cameron Worrell and linebacker Lance Briggs were each fined $2,500.

McQuarters was also fined $5,000 for a separate unsportsmanlike conduct in the game.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending News
Seattle Seahawks hold off Detroit Lions for controversial win
Oakland Athletics promote Billy Beane, name David Forst GM
Apology saves Rory McIlroy $20K
Falcons hope to get injured RB Coleman back this week