Six join basketball Hall of Fame

Sept. 11, 2004 at 9:55 AM

SPRINGFIELD, Mass., Sept. 10 (UPI) -- Four players, a coach and a basketall executive were enshrined Friday in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass.

The Class of 2004 includes the players, Clyde Drexler, Lynette Woodard, Maurice Stokes and Drazen Dilipagic; the coach, Bill Sharman, and Jerry Colangelo, who is about to retire as CEO of the Phoenix Suns.

Drexler was a nine-time NBA All-Star. In college at Houston, he became the only player in school history to accumulate 1,000 points, 900 rebounds and 300 steals.

Woodard was one of the first superstars in the women's game. She was a four-time all-Big 8 selection while at Kansas.

Stokes, whose career was ended by a freak accident during a game in 1958 that left him paralyzed, died in 1970. As a rookie, he set the NBA rebounding record for a season.

Dilipagic was a three-time European player of the year.

Sharman also was enshrined as a player in 1976. He is the only coach ever to win a championship and be named Coach of the Year in three different leagues.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
SB50: Denver Broncos face tough call at QB in 2016
Johnny Manziel's ex-girlfriend claims he hit her
NFLPA hopes to have independent arbitration for player discipline next season
Watch every star-studded Super Bowl commercial of 2016
Group recreates 'Mario Kart' video game at UK mall