Elway, Sanders Hall of Fame finalists

Jan. 14, 2004 at 7:20 PM

CANTON, Ohio, Jan. 14 (UPI) -- John Elway and Barry Sanders head the list of 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2004.

Elway is the NFL's second all-time leading passer and Sanders is the third all-time leading rusher. The finalists were chosen Wednesday by the Hall of Fame's board of selectors from a list of 25 semifinalists.

Former New York Giants linebacker Harry Carson and the late Giants General Manager George Young are automatic finalists because they finished in the top-six in voting last year.

Both Elway and Sanders are in their first year of eligibility.

The other finalists are Bob Brown, Richard Dent, Carl Eller, Cliff Harris, Bob Hayes, Lester Hayes, Bob Kuechenberg, Jim Marshall, Art Monk, Rayfield Wright and Gary Zimmerman.

Brown and Bob Hayes are Senior Committee nominees. Among the semifinalists who did not make the cut were owners Ralph Wilson and Art Modell.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Bruins get Zac Rinaldo from Flyers for 2017 pick
Washington Capitals re-sign Jay Beagle for 3 more years
Cleveland Indians rookie Anderson hurls gem against Tampa Bay Rays
Moreland, Gallo lead Texas Rangers in rout of Baltimore Orioles
Hamilton, Cincinnati Reds hold off Minnesota Twins