Winslow wins Mackey Award

Dec. 10, 2003 at 3:20 PM

MANHASSET, N.Y., Dec. 10 (UPI) -- Kellen Winslow of Miami has been named the winner of the John Mackey Award, which is presented to the nation's top tight end.

Winslow, a Mackey finalist last season as a sophomore, leads the Hurricanes in receptions with 55 for 557 yards and one touchdown.

"All of us at the University of Miami feel that Kellen is the best tight end in the country and we are certainly happy to see him recognized as such," said Coach Larry Coker. "Kellen is one of the most competitive and complete tight ends I've ever been associated with."

The other finalists were Kris Wilson of Pittsburgh and Ben Troupe of Florida.

Past winners include Iowa's Dallas Clark (2002), Colorado's Daniel Graham (2001), and Tim Stratton of Purdue (2000).

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
UFC title-bout pullout has MMA chirping
New York Yankees take care of distracted Los Angeles Angels
Burnett, homers propel Pittsburgh Pirates over Detroit Tigers
Cowherd has very awkward interview with Michigan's Harbaugh
Women's World Cup: Own goal sends Japan to final