Finalists named for Thorpe Award

Nov. 26, 2003 at 7:03 PM

INDIANAPOLIS, Nov. 26 (UPI) -- The finalists have been named for the 2003 Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's best defensive back.

They are Derrick Strait of Oklahoma, Florida's Keiwan Ratliff, and Sean Taylor of Miami (Fla.).

Ratliff leads the SEC with nine interceptions and has 47 tackles, six pass breakups, a fumble recovery, and a blocked kick.

Strait has three interceptions for 127 yards, 11 pass breakups, 61 tackles, two forced fumbles, and four fumble recoveries.

"No player has had a greater impact on our program since we've been here than Derrick," said Oklahoma Coach Bob Stoops.

Taylor has seven interceptions, returning three of them for touchdowns, 71 tackles, 13 pass breakups, and one quarterback sack.

The winner of the award, to be determined by a vote of a nationwide panel of former coaches, players, sportswriters and sportscasters, will be announced Dec. 11 in a live presentation by ESPN at Disney World in Orlando.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
SB50: Denver Broncos face tough call at QB in 2016
Johnny Manziel's ex-girlfriend claims he hit her
NFLPA hopes to have independent arbitration for player discipline next season
Watch every star-studded Super Bowl commercial of 2016
Group recreates 'Mario Kart' video game at UK mall