NHL Hall inducts three new members

Nov. 4, 2003 at 7:49 AM

TORONTO, Nov. 4 (UPI) -- Grant Fuhr, Pat LaFontaine, and Mike Ilitch were united Monday, when they were inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Long-time junior coach Brian Kilrea joined the trio.

Fuhr is seventh on the all-time list with 403 wins in over 19 seasons with six different teams and was the goaltender on Edmonton teams that captured five Stanley Cup championships from 1984-90. He was elected in his first year of eligibility.

In a career cut short by post-concussion syndrome, he totaled 468 goals and 545 assists in 865 games. LaFontaine spent six seasons with the Sabres and one with the New York Rangers before retiring in October 1999.

Ilitch appropriately was elected in the builders category. Over the past two decades, Detroit has become one of the NHL's elite teams.

The Red Wings have won nine division titles, four Western Conference championships, and three Stanley Cups in the past two decades.

Kilrea was a four-time Coach of the Year in the Ontario Hockey League and has 1,000 career wins.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Topics: Grant Fuhr
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Women's World Cup: U.S. inspired for rematch vs. Japan
UPI Horse Racing Weekend Preview
Report: Los Angeles Lakers on verge of acquiring Hibbert
LeBron, Cleveland Cavaliers not talking just yet
San Antonio Spurs optimistic about Ginobili returning