NHL Hall of Fame elects two

June 12, 2003 at 7:01 AM   |   Comments

TORONTO, June 12 (UPI) -- Grant Fuhr, a first-time eligible, Wednesday became the first black to be elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Center Pat LaFontaine and two members of the builder category, Detroit Red Wings owner Mike Illitch and long-time junior coach Brian Kilrea, join Fuhr in the Class of 2003.

After winning five Stanley Cups with Edmonton and ranking sixth on the all-time list with 403 career wins, Fuhr was considered a virtual lock in his first year of eligibility.

He was the starting goaltender on Edmonton teams that won four Stanley Cup titles in a five-year span (1984, '85, 1987, and '88).

Fuhr was a first-round pick by the Oilers in 1981 and had a 19-year career.

LaFontaine had his career cut short by post-concussion syndrome after recording 468 goals and 1,013 points in 865 NHL games.

Dino Ciccarelli, who has 608 career goals, and Glenn Anderson, another former Oiler with 498 career goals, were not elected.

Topics: Grant Fuhr
© 2003 United Press International, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Any reproduction, republication, redistribution and/or modification of any UPI content is expressly prohibited without UPI's prior written consent.
Most Popular
WATCH: Eric Bledsoe shakes Clippers guard all the way off the court WATCH: Eric Bledsoe shakes Clippers guard all the way off the court
Bowling to introduce new scoring system
Lions bring stingy defense to London, aim to ground Falcons
Pirates agree to minor league deal with Stinson
2013-14 college football bowl results 2013-14 college football bowl results
Trending News
Around the Web