NFL Draft No. 1 selections

By United Press International   |   April 24, 2003 at 4:27 PM

No. 1 choices in NFL Draft history, listing year, player, position, college and the NFL team that held the top pick:

2003 -- Carson Palmer, qb, USC by Cincinnati

2002 -- David Carr, qb, Fresno St. by Houston

2001 -- Michael Vick, qb, Virginia Tech by Atlanta

2000 -- Courtney Brown, de, Penn St. by Cleveland

1999 -- Tim Couch, qb, Kentucky by Cleveland

1998 -- Peyton Manning, qb, Tennessee by Indianapolis

1997 -- Orlando Pace, t, Ohio State by St. Louis

1996 -- Keyshawn Johnson, wr, USC by NY Jets

1995 -- Ki-Jana Carter, rb, Penn St. by Cincinnati

1994 -- Dan Wilkinson, dt, Ohio State by Cincinnati

1993 -- Drew Bledsoe, qb, Washington St. by New England

1992 -- Steve Emtman, dl, Washington by Indianapolis

1991 -- Russell Maryland, dt, Miami by Dallas

1990 -- Jeff George, qb, Illinois by Indianapolis

1989 -- Troy Aikman, qb, UCLA by Dallas

1988 -- Aundray Bruce, lb, Auburn by Atlanta

1987 -- Vinny Testaverde, qb, Miami by Tampa Bay

1986 -- Bo Jackson, rb, Auburn by Tampa Bay

1985 -- Bruce Smith, de, Virginia Tech by Buffalo

1984 -- Irving Fryar, wr, Nebraska by New England

1983 -- John Elway, qb, Stanford by Baltimore

1982 -- Kenneth Sims, de, Texas by New England

1981 -- George Rogers, rb, South Carolina by New Orleans

1980 -- Billy Sims, rb, Oklahoma by Detroit

1979 -- Tom Cousineau, lb, Ohio State by Buffalo

1978 -- Earl Campbell, rb, Texas by Houston

1977 -- Ricky Bell, rb, USC by Tampa Bay

1976 -- Lee Roy Selmon, de, Oklahoma by Tampa Bay

1975 -- Steve Bartkowski, qb, California by Atlanta

1974 -- Ed Jones, de, Tennessee St. by Dallas

1973 -- John Matuszak, de, Tampa by Houston

1972 -- Walt Patulski, de, Notre Dame by Buffalo

1971 -- Jim Plunkett, qb, Stanford by New England

1970 -- Terry Bradshaw, qb, Louisiana Tech by Pittsburgh

1969 -- O.J. Simpson, rb, USC by Buffalo

1968 -- Ron Yary, t, USC by Minnesota

1967 -- Bubba Smith, de, Michigan St. by Baltimore

1966 -- Tommy Nobis, lb, Texas by Atlanta (NFL); Jim Grabowski, rb, Illinois by Miami (AFL)

1965 -- Tucker Frederickson, rb, Auburn by NY Giants (NFL); Lawrence Elkins, wr, Baylor by Houston (AFL)

1964 -- Dave Parks, wr, Texas Tech by San Francisco (NFL); Jack Concannon, qb, Boston College by Boston (AFL)

1963 -- Terry Baker, qb, Oregon St. by Los Angeles (NFL); Buck Buchanan, dt, Grambling by Kansas City (AFC)

1962 -- Ernie Davis, rb, Syracuse by Washington (NFL); Roman Gabriel, qb, North Carolina St. by Oakland (AFL)

1961 -- Tommy Mason, rb, Tulane by Minnesota (NFL); Ken Rice, g, Auburn by Buffalo (AFL)

1960 -- Billy Cannon, rb, LSU by Los Angeles (NFL); (AFL had no formal first pick)

1959 -- Randy Duncan, qb, Iowa by Green Bay

1958 -- King Hill, qb, Rice by Chi. Cardinals

1957 -- Paul Hornung, rb, Notre Dame by Green Bay

1956 -- Gary Glick, db, Colorado A&M by Pittsburgh

1955 -- George Shaw, qb, Oregon by Baltimore

1954 -- Bobby Garrett, qb, Stanford by Cleveland

1953 -- Harry Babcock, e, Georgia by San Francisco

1952 -- Bill Wade, qb, Vanderbilt by Los Angeles

1951 -- Kyle Rote, hb, Southern Methodist by NY Giants

1950 -- Leon Hart, e, Notre Dame by Detroit

1949 -- Chuck Bednarik, c, Pennsylvania by Philadelphia

1948 -- Harry Gilmer, qb, Alabama by Washington

1947 -- Bob Fenimore, hb, Oklahoma A&M by Chi. Bears

1946 -- Frank Dancewicz, qb, Notre Dame by Boston

1945 -- Charley Trippi, hb, Georgia by Chi. Cardinals

1944 -- Angelo Bertelli, qb, Notre Dame by Boston

1943 -- Frank Sinkwich, hb, Georgia by Detroit

1942 -- Bill Dudley, hb, Virginia by Pittsburgh

1941 -- Tom Harmon, hb, Michigan by Chi. Bears

1940 -- George Cafego, hb, Tennessee by Chi. Cardinals

1939 -- Ki Aldrich, c, Texas Christian by Chi. Cardinals

1938 -- Corbett Davis, fb, Indiana by Cleveland

1937 -- Sam Francis, fb, Nebraska by Philadelphia

1936 -- Jay Berwanger, hb, Chicago by Philadelphia

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for more news from
Related UPI Stories
share with facebook
share with twitter
Trending Stories