Romberg wins Rimington

Dec. 13, 2002 at 12:19 PM

NEW YORK, Dec. 13 (UPI) -- Brett Romberg of Miami Friday was named the winner of the Dave Rimington Trophy, given to the top center in college football.

Jeff Faine of Notre Dame was second in the voting and Bruce Nelson of Iowa was third.

The 6-3, 297-pound senior was a Rimington finalist in 2001, and has made the blocking calls for teams that have won 34 straight games.

The Hurricanes (12-0) seek their second straight national title when they face Ohio State in the Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 3.

The three-year-old Rimington Award is determined by a consensus of four All-America teams. Nebraska's Dominic Raiola and Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley were the first two winners.

Topics: Bruce Nelson
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Los Angeles Dodgers trade for Mat Latos, Mike Morse from Miami Marlins
Mexico ousts national team coach
Baseball Hall of Fame to change voting eligibility
Andres Blanco's double keeps Philadelphia Phillies rolling
Aggressive Miami Marlins down Washington Nationals