Wimbledon Tennis Champions

July 7, 2002 at 12:17 PM   |   Comments

Year Men Women

2002 Lleyton Hewitt Serena Williams

2001 Goran Ivanicevic Venus Williams

2000 Pete Sampras Venus Williams

1999 Pete Sampras Lindsay Davenport

1998 Pete Sampras Jana Novotna

1997 Pete Sampras Martina Hingis

1996 Richard Krajicek Steffi Graf

1995 Pete Sampras Steffi Graf

1994 Pete Sampras Conchita Martinez

1993 Pete Sampras Steffi Graf

1992 Andre Agassi Steffi Graf

1991 Michael Stich Steffi Graf

1990 Stefan Edberg Martina Navratilova

1989 Boris Becker Steffi Graf

1988 Stefan Edberg Steffi Graf

1987 Pat Cash Martina Navratilova

1986 Boris Becker Martina Navratilova

1985 Boris Becker Martina Navratilova

1984 John McEnroe Martina Navratilova

1983 John McEnroe Martina Navratilova

1982 Jimmy Connors Martina Navratilova

1981 John McEnroe Chris Evert Lloyd

1980 Bjorn Borg Evonne Goolagong Cawley

1979 Bjorn Borg Martina Navratilova

1978 Bjorn Borg Martina Navratilova

1977 Bjorn Borg Virginia Wade

1976 Bjorn Borg Chris Evert

1975 Arthur Ashe Billie Jean King

1974 Jimmy Connors Chris Evert

1973 Jan Kodes Billie Jean King

1972 Stan Smith Billie Jean King

1971 John Newcombe Evonne Goolagong

1970 John Newcombe Margaret Smith Court

1969 Rod Laver Ann Haydon Jones

1968 Rod Laver Billie Jean King

1967 John Newcombe Billie Jean King

1966 Manuel Santana Billie Jean King

1965 Roy Emerson Margaret Smith

1964 Roy Emerson Maria Bueno

1963 Chuck McKinley Margaret Smith

1962 Rod Laver Karen Hantze Susman

1961 Rod Laver Angela Mortimer

1960 Neale Fraser Maria Bueno

1959 Alex Olmedo Maria Bueno

1958 Ashley Cooper Althea Gibson

1957 Lew Hoad Althea Gibson

1956 Lew Hoad Shirley Fry

1955 Tony Trabert Louise Brough

1954 Jaroslav Drobny Maureen Connolly

1953 Vic Seixas Maureen Connolly

1952 Frank Sedgman Maureen Connolly

1951 Dick Savitt Doris Hart

1950 Budge Patty Louise Brough

1949 Ted Schroeder Louise Brough

1948 Bob Falkenburg Louise Brough

1947 Jack Kramer Margaret Osborne

1946 Yvon Petra Pauline Betz

1945 no tournament

1944 no tournament

1943 no tournament

1942 no tournament

1941 no tournament

1940 no tournament

1939 Bobby Riggs Alice Marble

1938 Don Budge Helen Wills Moody

1937 Don Budge Dorothy Round

1936 Fred Perry Helen Jacobs

1935 Fred Perry Helen Wills Moody

1934 Fred Perry Dorothy Round

1933 Jack Crawford Helen Wills Moody

1932 Ellsworth Vines Helen Wills Moody

1931 Sidney Wood Cilly Aussem

1930 Bill Tilden Helen Wills Moody

1929 Henri Cochet Helen Wills

1928 Rene Lacoste Helen Wills

1927 Henri Cochet Helen Wills

1926 Jean Borotra Kathleen McKane Godfree

1925 Rene Lacoste Suzanne Lenglen

1924 Jean Borotra Kathleen McKane

1923 William Johnston Suzanne Lenglen

1922 Gerald Patterson Suzanne Lenglen

1921 Bill Tilden Suzanne Lenglen

1920 Bill Tilden Suzanne Lenglen

1919 Gerald Patterson Suzanne Lenglen

1918 no tournament

1917 no tournament

1916 no tournament

1915 no tournament

1914 Norman Brookes Dorothea Lambert Chambers

1913 Anthony Wilding Dorothea Lambert Chambers

1912 Anthony Wilding Ethel Thomson Larcombe

1911 Anthony Wilding Dorothea Lambert Chambers

1910 Anthony Wilding Dorothea Lambert Chambers

1909 Arthur Gore Dora Boothby

1908 Arthur Gore Charlotte Cooper Sterry

1907 Norman Brookes May Sutton

1906 Laurie Doherty Dorothea Douglass

1905 Laurie Doherty May Sutton

1904 Laurie Doherty Dorothea Douglass

1903 Laurie Doherty Dorothea Douglass

1902 Laurie Doherty Muriel Robb

1901 Arthur Gore Charlotte Cooper Sterry

1900 Reggie Doherty Blanche Bingley Hillyard

1899 Reggie Doherty Blanche Bingley Hillyard

1898 Reggie Doherty Charlotte Cooper

1897 Reggie Doherty Blanche Bingley Hillyard

1896 Harold Mahoney Charlotte Cooper

1895 Wilfred Baddeley Charlotte Cooper

1894 Joshua Pim Blanche Bingley Hillyard

1893 Joshua Pim Charlotte Dod

1892 Wilfred Baddeley Charlotte Dod

1891 Wilfred Baddeley Charlotte Dod

1890 William Hamilton Lena Rice

1889 William Renshaw Blanche Bingley Hillyard

1888 Ernest Renshaw Charlotte Dod

1887 Herbert Lawford Charlotte Dod

1886 William Renshaw Blanche Bingley

1885 William Renshaw Maud Watson

1884 William Renshaw Maud Watson

1883 William Renshaw

1882 William Renshaw

1881 William Renshaw

1880 John Hartley

1879 John Hartley

1878 Frank Hadow

1877 Spencer Gore

© 2002 United Press International, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Any reproduction, republication, redistribution and/or modification of any UPI content is expressly prohibited without UPI's prior written consent.
Recommended UPI Stories
Most Popular
Longtime NBA ref Bavetta retiring
Former Titans LB Shaw discloses ALS diagnosis
2013-14 college football bowl results
NFL expands practice squads to 10 players
Indians' Raburn lands on DL
Trending News