AL Manager of Year winners

Nov. 14, 2001 at 4:21 PM

SEATTLE, Nov. 14 (UPI) -- List of American League Manager of the Year winners:

2001 -- Lou Piniella, Seattle Mariners


2000 -- Jerry Manuel, Chicago White Sox

1999 -- Jimy Williams, Boston Red Sox

1998 -- Joe Torre, New York Yankees

1997 -- Davey Johnson, Baltimore Orioles

1996 -- (tie) Joe Torre, New York Yankees; Johnny Oates, Texas Rangers

1995 -- Lou Piniella, Seattle Mariners

1994 -- Buck Showalter, New York Yankees

1993 -- Gene Lamont, Chicago White Sox

1992 -- Tony La Russa, Oakland Athletics

1991 -- Tom Kelly, Minnesota Twins

1990 -- Jeff Torborg, Chicago White Sox

1989 -- Frank Robinson, Baltimore Orioles

1988 -- Tony La Russa, Oakland Athletics

1987 -- Sparky Anderson, Detroit Tigers

1986 -- John McNamara, Boston Red Sox

1985 -- Bobby Cox, Toronto Blue Jays

1984 -- Sparky Anderson, Detroit Tigers

1983 -- Tony La Russa, Chicago White Sox

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
WATCH: Umpire exits after hit in head with bat
Michael Jordan vetoed a Tracy McGrady for Scottie Pippen trade
WATCH: Irish soccer fans dent car roof, immediately fix it
Paulina Gretzky's dress upstages Dustin Johnson's U.S. Open win
Swedish soccer player removed from game for farting