Rumsfeld honored, Emanuel snubbed

Dec. 2, 2010 at 11:43 AM
| License Photo

WINNETKA, Ill., Dec. 2 (UPI) -- An Illinois high school's first-ever "Hall of Honor" awards for alumni gave accolades to Donald Rumsfeld and actor Rainn Wilson but snubbed Rahm Emanuel.

The New Trier Township High School in Winnetka released its list of honorees Wednesday, including former Secretary of Defense Rumsfeld and "The Office" star Wilson, but missing from the "Hall of Honor" were school alumni Rahm Emanuel, former chief of staff to President Barack Obama and now a Chicago mayoral candidate, and actress Ann-Margret, the Chicago Sun-Times reported Thursday.

The school, which described the Hall of Honors members as displaying "inquiry, compassion and service," also gave honors to Playboy executive Christie Hefner, Nielsen chief executive Arthur C. Nielsen Jr., Nobel Prize-winning physicist Jack Steinberger, cancer researcher Todd Golub, dancer Anna Halprin, cataract surgeon Geoffrey Tabin, former U.S. Ambassador Richard Williamson and Holocaust Memorial Foundation of Illinois president Sam Harris.

The school said another round of inductees will be chosen next year.

Latest Headlines
Top Stories
'Very aggressive' turkey terrorizes University of Michigan campus
Lawsuit: Meth found at bottom of In-N-Out Burger beverage
Mystery pooper targeting holes of Norwegian golf course
Fisherman on a paddleboard lands 400-pound grouper
Texas man's bullet bounced off armadillo and hit him in the head