Nominees for 28th Annual Saturn Awards

March 14, 2002 at 4:04 PM

LOS ANGELES, March 14 (UPI) -- Here is a list of nominees for the 28th Annual Saturn Awards, announced Thursday by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films in Los Angeles:

Motion picture nominations:

Best science fiction film: "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; "Jurassic Park III"; "Lara Croft: Tomb Raider"; "The One"; "Planet of the Apes"; "Vanilla Sky".

Fantasy film: "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; "Monsters, Inc."; "The Mummy Returns"; "Shrek"; "Spy Kids".

Horror film: "The Devil's Backbone"; "From Hell"; "Hannibal"; "Jeepers Creepers"; "The Others"; "13 Ghosts".

Action/adventure film: "Black Hawk Down "; "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; "Joy Ride"; "The Man Who Wasn't There"; "Memento"; "Mulholland Drive".

Actor: Tom Cruise, "Vanilla Sky"; Johnny Depp, "From Hell"; Anthony Hopkins, "Hannibal"; Guy Pearce, "Memento"; Kevin Spacey, "K-Pax"; Billy Bob Thornton, "The Man Who Wasn't There".

Actress: Kate Beckinsale, "Serendipity"; Nicole Kidman, "The Others"; Angelina Jolie, "Lara Croft: Tomb Raider"; Julianne Moore, "Hannibal"; Frances O'Connor, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; Naomi Watts, "Mulholland Drive".

Supporting actor: Robbie Coltrane, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; Mark Dacascos, "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; Ian McKellen, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of The Ring"; Eddie Murphy, "Shrek"; Jeremy Piven, "Serendipity"; Tim Roth, "Planet of the Apes".

Supporting actress: Monica Bellucci, "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; Helena Bonham Carter, "Planet of the Apes"; Cameron Diaz, "Vanilla Sky"; Fionnula Flanagan, "The Others"; Frances McDormand, "The Man Who Wasn't There"; Maggie Smith, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone".

Performance by a younger actor: Freddie Boath, "The Mummy Returns"; Justin Long, "Jeepers Creepers"; Alakina Mann, "The Others"; Haley Joel Osment, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; Daniel Radcliffe, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; Emma Watson, "Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone".

Direction: Alejandro Amenábar, "The Others"; Chris Columbus, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; Christophe Gans, "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; Peter Jackson, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; David Lynch, "Mulholland Drive"; Steven Spielberg, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence".

Writing: Alejandro Amenábar, "The Others"; Andrew Stanton and Dan Gerson, "Monsters, Inc."; Stéphane Cabel and Christophe Gans, "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; Ted Elliott, Terry Rossio, Joe Stillman and Roger S.H. Schulman, "Shrek"; Steven Spielberg, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens and Peter Jackson, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring".

Music: Angelo Badalamenti, "Mulholland Drive"; Joseph LoDuca, "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; John Powell and Harry Gregson-Williams, "Shrek"; Howard Shore, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; John Williams, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; Nancy Wilson, "Vanilla Sky".

Costume: "Planet of the Apes"; "From Hell"; "Brotherhood of the Wolf"; "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; "Moulin Rouge".

Makeup: "Hannibal"; "Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone"; "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; "The Mummy Returns"; "Planet of the Apes"; "Vanilla Sky".

Special effects: "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; "Jurassic Park III"; "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; "The Mummy Returns"; "Brotherhood of the Wolf".

TV nominations:

Best network TV series: "Angel" (WB); "Buffy The Vampire Slayer" (UPN); 'Dark Angel"; (Fox); "Enterprise" (UPN); "Smallville" (WB); "The X-Files" (Fox).

Syndicated/cable TV series: "Andromeda" (Alliance Atlantis); "The Chronicle" (Sci Fi Network); "Farscape" (The Henson Company/Sci Fi Network); "The Invisible Man"; (Sci Fi Network); "Stargate SG-l" (MGM/Showtime); "Witchblade" (TNT).

Single TV presentation: "Earth Vs. The Spider" (Cinemax); "Jack and the Beanstalk -- The Real Story" (CBS/Hallmark); "The Lost Empire (NBC); "The Mists of Avalon" (TNT); "She Creature" (Cinemax); "Teenage Caveman" (Cinemax).

Actor in a TV series: Richard Dean Anderson, "Stargate SG-1"; Scott Bakula, "Enterprise"; David Boreanaz, "Angel"; Ben Browder, "Farscape"; Robert Patrick, "The X-Files"; Tom Welling, "Smallville".

Actress in a TV series: Jessica Alba, "Dark Angel"; Gillian Anderson, "The X-Files"; Claudia Black, "Farscape"; Yancy Butler, "Witchblade"; Sarah Michelle Gellar, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"; Kristin Kreuk, "Smallville".

Supporting actor in a TV series: Christopher Judge, "Stargate SG-1"; James Marsters, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"; Michael Rosenbaum, "Smallville"; Anthony Simcoe, "Farscape"; Connor Trinneer, "Enterprise"; Michael Weatherly, "Dark Angel".

Supporting actress in a TV series: Jolene Blalock, "Enterprise"; Gigi Edgley, "Farscape"; Annabeth Gish, "The X-Files"; Alyson Hannigan, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"; Amanda Tapping, "Stargate SG-1"; Michelle Trachtenberg, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer".

DVD nominations:

Best DVD release: "Bruiser"; "Ginger Snaps"; "Lady and the Tramp 2: Scamp's Adventure"; "Panic"; "Rat"; "With a Friend Like Harry".

DVD special edition release: "Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas"; "Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within"; "Lara Croft: Tomb Raider"; "Moulin Rouge"; "Planet of the Apes"; "Shrek".

DVD classic film release: "Close Encounters of the Third Kind"; "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs"; "Star Trek: The Motion Picture (Director's Edition); "Star Wars: Episode I -- The Phantom Menace"; "Superman: The Movie"; "Suspiria".

Dr. Donald A. Reed Award: Sherry Lansing (producer, "Fatal Attraction," "The Accused").

Life Career Award: Stan Lee (editor, Marvel Comics).

Life Career Award: Drew Struzan (movie poster illustrator, "Indiana Jones," "Back to the Future").

Special Achievement Award: Anchor Bay Entertainment (pioneer in DVD releases and home video entertainment).

George Pal Memorial Award (posthumously): Samuel Z. Arkoff (co-founder, American International Pictures, " War of the Colossal Beast," "Beach Blanket Bingo," "The Spider," "The Abominable Dr. Phibes," "I Was a Teenage Werewolf").

The 28th Annual Saturn Awards will be presented in June in Los Angeles. No date has been set yet for the presentation.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for more news from
Related UPI Stories
share with facebook
share with twitter
Trending Stories