Nominees for Independent Spirit Awards

Jan. 9, 2002 at 5:27 PM

LOS ANGELES, Jan. 9 (UPI) -- Here is a list of the nominees for the 17th Annual Independent Spirit Awards, which will be presented in March by the west coast branch of the Independent Feature Project (IFP/West):

Best feature: "Hedwig and the Angry Inch"; "L.I.E."; "Memento"; "Things Behind The Sun"; "Waking Life"

Director: Michael Cuesta ("L.I.E."); Cheryl Dunye ("Stranger Inside"); Richard Linklater ("Waking Life"); John Cameron Mitchell ("Hedwig and the Angry Inch"); Christopher Nolan ("Memento")

Screenplay: Milo Addica & Will Rokos ("Monster's Ball"); Henry Bean ("The Believer"); Rob Festinger & Todd Field ("In The Bedroom"); Richard Linklater ("Waking Life"); Christopher Nolan ("Memento")

First feature (Award given to the Director): "The Anniversary Party" (Directors, Jennifer Jason Leigh & Alan Cumming); "The Believer" (Director, Henry Bean); "Donnie Darko" (Director, Richard Kelly); "Ghost World" (Director, Terry Zwigoff); "In The Bedroom" (Director, Todd Field)

First screenplay: "Ghost World" (Daniel Clowes & Terry Zwigoff); "Donnie Darko" (Richard Kelly); "The Anniversary Party" (Jennifer Jason Leigh & Alan Cumming); "Hedwig and the Angry Inch" (John Cameron Mitchell); "L.I.E." (Stephen M. Ryder, Michael Cuesta & Gerald Cuesta)

John Cassavetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000): "Acts of Worship"; "Jackpot"; "Kaaterskill Falls"; "Punks"; "Virgil Bliss"

Debut performance: Paul Franklin Dano ("L.I.E."); Ana Reeder ("Acts of Worship"); Clint Jordan ("Virgil Bliss"); Yolonda Ross ("Stranger Inside"); Ensemble -- Hilary Howard, Anthony Leslie, Mitchell Riggs ("Kaaterskill Falls")

Supporting female: Davenia McFadden ("Stranger Inside"); Carrie-Anne Moss ("Memento"); Summer Phoenix ("The Believer"); Tamara Tunie ("The Caveman's Valentine"); Uma Thurman ("Tape")

Supporting male: Steve Buscemi ("Ghost World"); Don Cheadle ("Things Behind The Sun"); Billy Kay ("L.I.E."); Garrett Morris ("Jackpot"); John C. Reilly ("The Anniversary Party")

Female lead: Kim Dickens ("Things Behind the Sun"); Molly Parker ("The Center of the World"); Sissy Spacek ("In the Bedroom"); Tilda Swinton ("The Deep End"); Kerry Washington ("Lift")

Male lead: Brian Cox ("L.I.E."); Ryan Gosling ("The Believer"); Jake Gyllenhaal ("Donnie Darko"); John Cameron Mitchell ("Hedwig and the Angry Inch"); Tom Wilkinson ("In The Bedroom")

Cinematography: Frank G. DeMarco ("Hedwig and the Angry Inch"); Peter Deming ("Mulholland Drive"); W. Mott Hupfel III ("The American Astronaut"); Giles Nuttgens ("The Deep End"); Wally Pfister ("Memento")

Foreign film (Award given to the director): "Amélie" (Director, Jean-Pierre Jeunet); "Amores Perros" (Director, Alejandro González Iñárritu); "Lumumba" (Director, Raoul Peck); "Sexy Beast" (Director, Jonathan Glazer); "Together" (Director, Lukas Moodysson)

Documentary (Award given to the director): "Dogtown and Z-Boys" (Director, Stacy Peralta); "Go Tigers!" (Director, Kenneth A. Carlson); "Lalee's Kin: The Legacy of Cotton" (Directors, Susan Froemke, Deborah Dickson, Albert Maysles); "Promises" (Directors, Justine Shapiro, B.Z. Goldberg, Carlos Bolado); "Scratch" (Director, Doug Pray)

Someone to Watch Award: Debra Eisenstadt, director, "Daydream Believer"; DeMane Davis and Khari Streeter, directors, "Lift"; Michael Gilio, director, "Kwik Stop"; David Maquiling, director, "Too Much Sleep"

Direct/TV Truer Than Fiction Award: Edet Belzberg, "Children Underground"; Sandi Simcha Dubowski, "Trembling Before G-d"; B.Z. Goldberg, Carlos Bolado and Justine Shapiro, "Promises"; Alix Lambert, "The Mark of Cain"; Monteith McCollum, "Hybrid"

Motorola Producers Award: René Bastian and Linda Moran, producers, "Martin and Orloff" and "L.I.E."; Adrienne Gruben, producer, "Treasure Island" and "Olympia"; Jasmine Kosovic, producer, "Just One Time" and "The Adventures of Sebastian Cole"; Nadia Leonelli, producer, "Acts of Worship" and "Perfume"

The 17th annual Independent Spirit Awards will be presented in Santa Monica, Calif., on March 23, in ceremonies hosted by writer-director John Waters.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
5 Reasons why the Denver Broncos won't be repeat champions
600-pound pig crashes New Hampshire primary
Watch the first full trailer for 'Fuller House'
Liam Neeson romantically involved with 'famous' woman
Car spins out of control, lands on roof of California home