The 2012 Republican Caucus in Iowa (21 images)

Former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romney won the Iowa caucus by a mere eight votes over surprise contender and former Senator Rick Santorum. Texas Rep. Ron Paul finished in a strong third place, with Newt Gingrich and Rick Perry filling out the rest of the top five.
10 of 21
Republican 2012 presidential candidate and Minnesota Rep. Michele Bachmann (C) is applauded by "Rock the Vote" president Heather Smith (R) as she is joined by her daughter Caroline at a "Rock the Caucus" event, as they join 800 caucus-eligible juniors and seniors at West Des Moines Valley High School, Iowa, January 3, 2012. Polls indicate a tight race between Texas Rep. Ron Paul, former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney and former Senator Rick Santorum on the final day of Iowa's first-in-the-nation caucuses tonight. UPI/Mike Theiler
| License Photo