Former winners of the Iowa caucus (16 images)

With the 2012 Iowa Republican caucus underway, let's take a look at past winners and their eventual electoral fate during the rest of the primaries, and beyond.
Updated: Jan. 3, 2012 at 5:15 PM
1 of 16
U.S. President Barack Obama was the winner of the 2008 Iowa Democratic Caucus with 37.6 percent of the votes, which made him the first African-American candidate to ever win it. Then-Senator John Edwards of North Carolina came in second place and Former Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton came in third. UPI/Dennis Brack/POOL
| License Photo