LAS VEGAS, Oct. 30 (UPI) -- The Web site WhatisGluten.net says it compiled a list of gluten-free candy and points out more companies have added notices about gluten on their Web sites.
The list at http://whatisgluten.net/2011-gluten-free-candy-list includes 180 gluten-free candies and links to the manufacturers' Web sites for information about their use of gluten in their products, where available, company officials say.
Gluten is the stickiness that holds many baked goods together, but it can be found in several everyday food products such as soy sauce, peanut butter, salad dressing and many more grocery items.
"With thousands of candies to choose from and several manufacturers it's important to know which candies contain gluten, especially if you have an allergy to gluten or celiac disease," a statement from WhatisGluten.net said.
"Hershey's, Mars, Nestle, Tootsie, Necco, Spangler, Wonka, Palmer, Just Born, and Farley's and Sathers all produce gluten-free candy. Some of the candies on the list include Hershey's kisses, Bit O'Honey, O'Henry, Milky Way and Payday bars."
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley, but there are several types of grains that do not contain gluten at all, such as rice, millet, oats and buckwheat, the Web site statement said.
The up to 1 percent of the U.S. population who have celiac disease -- an abnormal immune response to gluten -- must maintain a 100 percent gluten-free diet, the statement said.