Gay critics bestow film, TV Dorian Awards

Jan. 20, 2013 at 1:51 PM   |   Comments

HOLLYWOOD, Jan. 20 (UPI) -- Homosexual film critics in Los Angeles have named "Argo" the recipient of the Dorian Award for the Best Movie of the year.

The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association, which consists of 80 film and TV critics and entertainment journalists, named Daniel Day-Lewis Best Actor for "Lincoln," and Anne Hathaway the Best Actress for her work in "Les Miserables."

The group says its annual Dorian Awards "toast the finest in movies, TV shows and performances of all kinds, not just LGBT-centric."

The Hollywood Reporter said the association declared "Keep the Lights On" to be the LGBT [lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender] Film of the Year. "Magic Mike" and "The Paperboy" won the uniquely Dorian honor for Campy Film of the Year.

On the television side, "Homeland" and "American Horror Story" tied for best drama. "Girls" won for Best Comedy.

The television acting awards went to Jessica Lange for "American Horror Story" and Damien Lewis for "Homeland."

The best LGBT shows were "New Normal" and "Modern Family."

Best campy show was "Liz and Dick," which featured Lindsey Lohan as Elizabeth Taylor.

The award winners, announced Wednesday, will be honored Feb. 17 in Los Angeles at the Fourth Annual GALECA Dorian Awards Winners Afternoon Tea, Queerty.com said.

© 2013 United Press International, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Any reproduction, republication, redistribution and/or modification of any UPI content is expressly prohibited without UPI's prior written consent.
Recommended UPI Stories
Most Popular
Marisa Tomei, Hugh Grant go to school in 'Rewrite' trailer
LeAnn Rimes jokes she lost virginity by raping boyfriend
Kyra Sedgwick is Deputy Chief Madeline Wuntch in new 'Brooklyn Nine-Nine' promo
Kenya Moore denies rumors she's dating Kordell Stewart
'Jay Leno's Garage' special to air Sunday on CNBC
Trending News