'Spartacus' episodes to air in order

May 24, 2012 at 2:03 PM

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif., May 24 (UPI) -- U.S. cable network Starz says it will air all 29 episodes of its "Spartacus" series in chronological order for the first time starting next month.

Installments of "Spartacus: Gods of the Arena" are to air June 8 and 15; "Spartacus: Blood and Sand" June 22 and 29 and July 6, 13 and 20; and "Spartacus: Vengeance" July 20 and 27 and Aug. 3 and 10.

Episodes of "Blood and Sand," starring Andy Whitfield as the titular gladiator, were the first to air. When Whitfield was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, Starz aired the prequel "Gods of the Arena" without his character and with the hope he could be successfully treated for the disease and return to the series.

However, his health worsened and Liam McIntyre took over the role in "Vengeance," which picked up where "Blood and Sand" ended.

Whitfield died last September. He was 39.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Johnny Depp feeds baby bat in video
Jennifer Lopez celebrates 46th birthday in sheer dress
Blake Shelton cuts post-divorce concert short due to lightning
Ice-T, wife Coco reportedly expecting first child together
Joe Jackson in Brazilian hospital after suffering stroke