Aronofsky, Fincher up for directing honor

Jan. 10, 2011 at 3:23 PM
1 of 5
| License Photo

LOS ANGELES, Jan. 10 (UPI) -- Darren Aronofsky, David Fincher, Tom Hooper, Christopher Nolan and David O. Russell have been nominated for the Directors Guild of America Award.

The filmmakers are nominated, respectively, for the films "Black Swan," "The Social Network," "The King's Speech," "Inception" and "The Fighter."

President Taylor Hackford announced the five nominees Monday for the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2010.

"2011 marks the 75th anniversary of the DGA, making the celebration of this year's five nominees especially meaningful," Hackford said in a statement. "Their inspired films radiate the passion and unique vision of each of these filmmakers, who are about to become part of our guild's rich history. My sincerest congratulations to all five nominees."

The winner will be named at the 63rd annual DGA Awards Dinner Jan. 29 at the Grand Ballroom of Hollywood and Highland in Los Angeles.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Kelly Clarkson, Ed Sheeran, Flo Rida to perform during Macy's 4th of July Fireworks Spectacular
Kourtney Kardashian's beau Scott Disick seen partying in Monte Carlo
'Deadpool' with Ryan Reynolds to be 'hard R' film
Watch Kate Hudson sing 'The Star-Spangled Banner' for the 4th of July
Ed Sheeran to act in new, medieval TV drama series