Sofia Coppola, Willem Dafoe named to Cannes jury

Five women and four men will sit on the jury for the 67th Cannes Film Festival this year.
By Kate Stanton Follow @KateStan Contact the Author   |   April 29, 2014 at 10:36 PM
| License Photo

CANNES, France, April 29 (UPI) -- A number of famous names will sit on the jury for the 67th annual Cannes Film Festival, held May 14-25 in Cannes, France.

Organizers said Monday that director Sofia Coppola and actors Willem Dafoe and Gael Garcia Bernal would join jury president, The Piano director and Top of the Lake creator Jane Campion on the prestigious panel.

The jury also includes Drive director Nicolas Winding Refn, French actress Carole Bouquet, Iranian actress Leila Hatami, Chinese director Jia Zhangke, and South Korean actress Jeon Do-yeon

“Cannes has always sought to adopt a universal and international approach, and in tune with this tradition, Campion will be surrounded by eight luminaries of world cinema, from China, Korea, Denmark, Iran, the United States, France and Mexico,” festival organizers said in a statement.

Director Steven Spielberg served as jury president last year, when Blue is the Warmest Color took the Palme d'Or.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
Pre-Super Bowl 'Jungle Book' teaser features Mowgli, Baloo
Michael Jackson's daughter Paris reveals she's in AA
Susan Sarandon responds to Piers Morgan criticizing cleavage
Watch every star-studded Super Bowl commercial of 2016
Fox, Lonely Island to launch sketch comedy show