'Button,' 'Knight' up for top PGA award

Jan. 5, 2009 at 8:28 PM
1 of 10
| License Photo

LOS ANGELES, Jan. 5 (UPI) -- Producers of "The Dark Knight," "Frost/Nixon" and "Milk" are among the nominees announced Monday for the Producers Guild of America's top film prize.

The other nominees for the Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures are the teams behind "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" and "Slumdog Millionaire."

The nominees for Producer of the Year for a theatrically released documentary are Simon Chinn for "Man on Wire," Julie Bilson Ahlberg and Errol Morris for "Standard Operating Procedure" and Carl Deal and Tia Lessin for "Trouble the Water."

Nominees in the animated movie category are Clark Spencer for "Bolt," Melissa Cobb for "Kung Fu Panda" and Jim Morris for "Wall-E."

Nominated for The Danny Thomas Producer of the Year Award in Episodic Television -- Comedy are the teams behind "Curb Your Enthusiasm," "Entourage," "The Office," "30 Rock" and "Weeds."

In the TV drama category, the nominees are the producers of "Boston Legal," "Damages," "Dexter," "Lost" and "Mad Men."

The PGA also announced it would present its Milestone Award to Brian Grazer and Ron Howard; its David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures to Michael Douglas; and its Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television to David Chase. The organization also said it would present its Visionary Award to Jeff Skoll; its Vanguard Award to MySpace founders Chris DeWolfe and Tom Anderson; and its Stanley Kramer Award to Dan Jinks and Bruce Cohen for "Milk."

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Gisele Bundchen, Tom Brady may not be welcome at top country club
Gerard Butler stars in 'London Has Fallen' teaser trailer
Joan Rivers' plush Manhattan condo sells for $28M
Watch Emilia Clarke's spot-on Valley Girl impression
First trailer released for plus-size model documentary 'Straight/Curve'