Outer Critics Circle honors 'August'

May 12, 2008 at 6:41 PM   |   Comments

| License Photo
NEW YORK, May 12 (UPI) -- The Outer Critics Circle named "August: Osage County" the winner of its award for new Broadway play Monday.

"August" also earned the prizes for director of a play for Anna D. Shapiro and lead actress in a play for Deanna Dunagan.

"Young Frankenstein" and "Xanadu" share the award in the new musical category, while "South Pacific" earned the prize for revival of a musical and "The Homecoming" garnered the award for revival of a play.

The revival of "South Pacific" sailed away with the most awards -- four.

Bartlett Sher won the director of a musical honor, Paulo Szot the lead actor in a musical prize and Danny Burstein the featured actor in a musical award.

"Gypsy" star Patti LuPone won the award for lead actress in a musical and her co-star Laura Benanti snagged the prize for featured actress in a musical.

Kevin Kline won the award for actor in a play for the revival of "Cyrano de Bergerac" and Laurence Fishburne earned the honor for a solo performance in "Thurgood."

James Earl Jones garnered the prize for featured actor in a play for his performance in "Cat on a Hot Tin Roof" and Laurie Metcalf won the actress equivalent for "November."

© 2008 United Press International, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Any reproduction, republication, redistribution and/or modification of any UPI content is expressly prohibited without UPI's prior written consent.
Recommended UPI Stories
Featured UPI Collection
2014: The Year in Music [PHOTOS]

2014: The Year in Music [PHOTOS]

Most Popular
Paula Patton makes first public appearance since Robin Thicke split
Meg Ryan buys Hank Azaria's loft in Soho for $8 million
Rose McGowan hopes short film 'Dawn' will win an Oscar
Drew Barrymore's half-sister Jessica died of accidental overdose
Adam Lambert, Lady Gaga perform homage to Queen
Trending News