'Hairspray' wins big at Olivier Awards

March 10, 2008 at 11:30 PM
1 of 2
| License Photo

LONDON, March 10 (UPI) -- "Hairspray" was named best new musical at the 2008 Laurence Olivier Awards ceremony in London Sunday night.

The show's stars, Leanne Jones and Michael Ball, picked up the prizes for best actress and actor in a musical, while Tracie Bennett earned the award for best performance in a supporting role in a musical.

"Saint Joan" was named best revival, "The Magic Flute" best musical revival, "A Disappearing Number at the Barbican" best new play and "Rafta Rafta" best new comedy.

Chiwetel Ejiofor earned the prize for best actor for his work in "Othello" and Kristin Scott Thomas grabbed the award for best actress for her performance in "The Seagull."

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Maci Bookout shares first photos of daughter Jayde
Tiger Woods denies affair with Amanda Boyd
Katherine Heigl, Alexis Bledel marry in 'Jenny's Wedding' trailer
Brandi Glanville slams 'Real Housewives' co-stars
'Deadpool' with Ryan Reynolds to be 'hard R' film