Matchbox Twenty returns with new album

Oct. 2, 2007 at 9:36 AM

LOS ANGELES, Oct. 2 (UPI) -- U.S. rock group Matchbox Twenty's first album in four years mixes new and old material.

Reuniting after some solo projects, including singer Rob Thomas' platinum "...Something to Be," the quartet placed six new songs on one disc for "Exile on Mainstream," with 11 hits from previous albums on another.

"We thought this is probably the best of both worlds," guitarist Kyle Cook said. "We could test out working with a new record producer (Steve Lillywhite), take a trial run, see how that goes, see how we feel working together again and whatnot.

"And we could do something for the fans. Everybody sort of adds the two songs to the greatest-of. This is better, we think."

"How Far We've Come" is the first single from "Exile on Mainstream." Matchbox Twenty plans to tour in 2008.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Malia Obama spotted on the set of 'Girls' in New York City
Are Nicolle Wallace and Rosie Perez leaving 'The View'?
Tiffani Thiessen gives birth to son, shares first photo on Instagram
Stephen Colbert hosts Michigan public-access show 'Only in Monroe'
Amy Winehouse's demos for her unfinished, third album have been destroyed