Doctorow wins Chicago Trib literary prize

Sept. 11, 2007 at 9:48 PM

CHICAGO, Sept. 11 (UPI) -- Author E.L. Doctorow has been named the recipient of the 2007 Chicago Tribune Literary Prize for lifetime achievement.

Past winners of the prize, which was established in 2002, are Arthur Miller, Tom Wolfe, August Wilson, Margaret Atwood and Joyce Carol Oates.

Doctorow is scheduled to receive his award on Nov. 4 at Chicago's Symphony Center, where he will be speaking as part of the Chicago Humanities Festival, the Chicago Tribune Company said in a statement

"In many ways, Doctorow is a time-traveler," said Ann Marie Lipinski, editor of the Chicago Tribune. "Whether writing about periods as distant as the Civil War or as relatively recent as the Cold War, he provokes a very powerful sense for the reader of living the time. But he bends history in a way that makes you reconsider it. Doctorow has given us a sweeping collection of novels, non-fiction, short stories and theater. There are few living Americans with as inventive and substantial a body of work."

The 76-year-old native New Yorker is the author of "The Book of Daniel," "Ragtime," "American Anthem" and "City of God."

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Sherri Shepherd to pay $4K per month for her disavowed child
Jessa Duggar posts baby bump selfie at 22 weeks
Tamera Mowry, Adam Housley welcome baby girl
Miranda Kerr spotted kissing Snapchat CEO Evan Spiegel
Tiger Woods denies affair with Amanda Boyd