Los Angeles Times Book Prize winners

April 28, 2007 at 3:52 PM

LOS ANGELES, April 28 (UPI) -- The winners of the 2006 Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were announced at UCLA, with the Robert Kirsch award going to William Kittredge.

The Kirsch award is considered one of the Times' most prestigious awards and is given to a writer who has made a distinguished contribution to American letters, the Los Angeles Times reported Saturday.

Other awards given out at the ceremony, hosted by author and PBS anchor Jim Lehrer, went to Israeli novelist A.B. Yehoshua for "A Woman in Jerusalem," Neal Gabler for "Walt Disney: The Triumph of the American Imagination," Lawrence Wright for "The Looming Tower: Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9/11," Ian Buruma's "Murder in Amsterdam: The Death of Theo van Gogh and the Limits of Tolerance" and to Michael Connelly for "Echo Park."

Each prize included a $1,000 cash award.

Also the Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction went to Alice Greenway for "White Ghost Girls" and the poetry award went to Frederick Seidel for "Ooga-Booga."

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
'Suicide Squad' has on-set therapist available for cast members
'I Am Chris Farley' documentary trailer released
Olivia Munn gets ready for 'X-Men'
Sofia Vergara stuns as bridesmaid in friend's wedding
'Duck Dynasty' star John Luke Robertson weds Mary Kate McEacharn