NAACP awards theater honors

Feb. 21, 2007 at 7:16 PM

LOS ANGELES, Feb. 21 (UPI) -- Laurence Fishburne and Valarie Pettiford were named top actor and actress during the NAACP Theater Awards program in Los Angeles.

Fishburne won for his performance in "Without Walls." Pettiford earned her award for "Wild Party."

The 17th annual event also honored George C. Wolfe with a lifetime achievement award, Variety said.

Other award recipients include Usher Raymond, who earned the Spirit Award, and Keith E. Hopps and Elizabeth Valtierra of oAbbott Laboratories, co-winners of the Community Service Award.

Cynthia Marshall accepted the President's Award. Gary Guidry and Je'Caryous Johnson each received a Trailblazer Award.

The Monday event was hosted by Chandra Wilson, a star the ABC drama "Grey's Anatomy," and Steve Harris, a star of the legal drama, "The Practice."

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Christie Brinkley congratulates ex Billy Joel on new marriage
Elizabeth Olsen accidentally flashes underwear in Paris
Michael Eisner tells Goldie Hawn beautiful women 'are not funny'
Ben Affleck, Jennifer Garner vacation amid divorce announcement
Hugh Jackman's wife bans actor from working with Angelina Jolie