Hawn, Burrows to get Comedy Fest awards

Jan. 9, 2006 at 9:32 PM

NEW YORK, Jan. 9 (UPI) -- Actress Goldie Hawn and director James Burrow were announced Monday as honorees during the U.S. Comedy Arts Festival in Aspen, Colo.

Hawn will receive the 2006 American Film Institute Star Award during the festival March 8-12, while James Burrows will receive a USCAF Career Tribute tracing his career from "The Mary Tyler Moore Show" and "The Bob Newhart Show" to "Cheers," "Friends" and "Will & Grace," HBO and the USCAF announced in a joint news release.

Past recipients of the AFI Star Award include Albert Brooks, Jim Carrey, Billy Crystal, Diane Keaton, Whoopi Goldberg, Steve Martin, Mike Myers, Rob Reiner, Jerry Seinfeld and Larry David, Monty Python and Robin Williams.

"I'm thrilled to have my AFI star in the same constellation as the previous recipients of this award," Hawn said in a statement. "It is a true honor to be recognized by American Film Institute and the U.S. Comedy Arts Festival, especially in one of my favorite places in the world."

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Kelly Clarkson, Ed Sheeran, Flo Rida to perform during Macy's 4th of July Fireworks Spectacular
Kourtney Kardashian's beau Scott Disick seen partying in Monte Carlo
Watch Kate Hudson sing 'The Star-Spangled Banner' for the 4th of July
Christopher Reeve's daughter gives birth to a son, names him Christopher
Ed Sheeran to act in new, medieval TV drama series