'Crash' wins civil rights award

Dec. 28, 2005 at 10:21 PM

WASHINGTON, Dec. 28 (UPI) -- The Washington-based Leadership Conference on Civil Rights is honoring the film "Crash" with its 2006 Hubert H. Humphrey Civil Rights Award.

It is the first time in the award's 30-year history that it has been presented to a film. The award is given annually to "those committed to the advancement of civil and human rights," LCCR Executive Director Wade Henderson told Daily Variety.

Henderson called "Crash" a "powerful, gut-wrenching, full-frontal examination of race and class in America."

The ensemble cast includes Sandra Bullock, Don Cheadle, Matt Dillon, Jennifer Esposito, William Fichtner, Brendan Fraser, Terrence Howard, Chris "Ludacris" Bridges, Thandie Newton, Ryan Phillippe and Larenz Tate.

The film will receive the honor May 4 for the organization's annual dinner in Washington.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Jill Duggar and Derick Dillard depart for overseas missions trip
Christie Brinkley congratulates ex Billy Joel on new marriage
Khloe Kardashian and James Harden spend Fourth of July together
Demi Lovato slips during poolside concert
Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis reportedly wed in secret ceremony