Stars line up for Twain Prize gala

Sept. 23, 2004 at 12:10 PM

WASHINGTON, Sept. 23 (UPI) -- Chevy Chase, Steve Martin and Paul Simon are to appear at the Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize ceremony for Lorne Michaels, organizers said Thursday.

The Kennedy Center said the all-star lineup will also include Dan Aykroyd, Candice Bergen, Darrell Hammond, Tina Fey, Tim Meadows, Conan O'Brien, Molly Shannon, David Spade and Christopher Walken. Plans also call for appearances by Sen. Christopher Dodd, D-Conn., and Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz.

Michaels, the creator of "Saturday Night Live," will receive the seventh annual Twain Prize at the Kennedy Center Concert Hall on Oct. 25, in ceremonies to be taped for telecast over PBS early in 2005.

Michaels has won 10 Emmy Awards as a writer and producer. "SNL" is a multiple Emmy-winner, and also has a George Foster Peabody Award to its credit. Michaels is also executive producer of NBC's "Late Night with Conan O'Brien," and has produced such movie hits as "Wayne's World" and "Mean Girls."

Michaels joins previous Twain Prize winners: Richard Pryor, Jonathan Winters, Carl Reiner, Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart and Lily Tomlin.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Prince William and Kate Middleton's daughter Princess Charlotte has been christened
USA Network renews 'Suits' for a sixth season
'The Chew' to tape five episodes at Disney's Epcot International Food & Wine Festival
David Walliams and Jessica Raine to star in 'Agatha Christie's Partners in Crime' series
'Jurassic World' is still the No. 1 movie in North America for a fourth weekend