"Scrubs" creator, writers to be honored

June 25, 2003 at 3:17 PM

LOS ANGELES, June 25 (UPI) -- The creator of the NBC series "Scrubs" and the cast and two writers will be honored with the "Founder's Award" for diverse casting and story lines.

Bill Lawrence, creator and executive producer of the NBC series, along with the cast and writers Matt Tarses and Eric Weinberg, will be honored Sept. 26.

The presentation will take place as part of the 10th anniversary, "Striving for Excellence Awards," held at the Regent Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills, Calif.

Scrubs cast members include: Donald Faison, Zach Braff, Sarah Chalke, John C. McGinley, Judy Reyes, Ken Jenkins and Neil Flynn.

Scrubs joins fellow honorees Ralph Farquhar, creator of Disney's, "The Proud Family," "Moesha" and "The Parkers," along with soccer commentator Andres Cantor and 20th Century Fox's director of diversity, Mitsy Wilson.

The Striving for Excellence Awards and benefit dinner recognizes broadcast, corporate and entertainment professionals who strive to make a difference in their communities.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Amy Schumer nails 'Real Housewives' audition
Katy Perry, ex-boyfriend John Mayer cozy up at concert
Kourtney Kardashian breaks it off with Scott Disick
Hugh Jackman's wife bans actor from working with Angelina Jolie
Michael Eisner tells Goldie Hawn beautiful women 'are not funny'