Australia re-commits to Seasparrow consortium

The Australian government says it will remain part of the Seasparrow missile consortium and help development of an upgrade to the naval system.
By Richard Tomkins   |   June 30, 2014 at 3:47 PM

CANBERRA, Australia, June 30 (UPI) -- Australia's Defense Department said the government will continue participation in NATO's Seasparrow Consortium for combating anti-ship missiles.

The Evolved Seasparrow Missile by Raytheon was developed by the U.S. Navy and is used on a number of U.S. Navy vessels as well as ships of Australia, Canada, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, and Turkey.

Defense Minister David Johnston said the government, which will sign a memorandum of understanding with the NATO Seasparrow Consortium, has allocated about $300 million to support development of an upgraded Seasparrow, "ensuring the safety and effectiveness of Royal Australian Navy operations."

"The upgrade of the Evolved Seasparrow missile system follows on from a number of complementary Anzac-class frigate upgrade projects," Johnstone said.

"The government expects to make a final decision on procurement of upgraded ESSMs around 2020. The government is keen to ensure that every ESSM Block 2 missile that is eventually produced will provide work for Australian industry."

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Netherlands orders Bushmaster armored vehicles
Mayo won't stick to packaging thanks to new technology
Royal Navy ships receiving maintenance services in Bahrain
RADA Electronics receives radar order
Sony unveils crowdfunding site to gain momentum for new products