List of winners of the Nobel physics prize

Oct. 8, 2002 at 7:09 AM   |   Comments

STOCKHOLM, Sweden, Oct. 8 (UPI) -- List of the winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics, established in 1901 by Alfred Nobel.

2002 -- Riccardo Giacconi, United States; Raymond Davis, Jr., United States; Masatoshi Koshiba, Japan.

2001 -- Eric A. Cornell, United States; Wolfgang Ketterle, Germany; Carl E. Wieman, United States.

2000 -- Zhores I. Alferov, Russia; Herbert Kroemer, Germany; Jack . Kilby, United States.

1999 -- Gerardus 't Hooft, Netherlands; Martinus J.G. Veltman, Netherlands.

1998 -- Robert B. Laughlin, United States; Horst L. Stoemer, Germany; Daniel C. Tsui, United States.

1997 -- Steven Chu, United States; Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, France; William D. Phillips, United States.

1996 -- David M. Lee, United States; Douglas D. Osheroff, United States; Robert C. Richardson, United States.

1995 -- Martin L. Perl, United States; Frederick Reines, United States.

1994 -- Bertram N. Brockhouse, Canada; Clifford G. Shull, United States.

1993 -- Russell A. Hulse, United States; Joseph H. Taylor Jr., United States.

1992 -- George Charpak, France.

1991 -- Pierre-Gilles de Gennes, France.

1990 -- Jerome I. Friedman, United States; Henry W. Kendall, United States; Richard E. Taylor, Canada.

1989 -- Norman F. Ramsey, United States; Hans G. Dehmelt, United States; Wolfgang Paul, Germany.

1988 -- Leon M. Lederman, United States; Melvin Schwartz, United States; Jack Steinberger, United States.

1987 -- J. Georg Bedhorz, Germany; Alexander Mueller, Swtizerland.

1986 -- Ernst Ruska, Germany; Gerd Binnig, Germany; Heinrich Rohrer, Switzerland.

1985 -- Klaus von Klitzing, Germany.

1984 -- Carlo Rubbia, Italy; Simon ven der Meer, Netherlands.

1983 -- Subramanyan Chandrasekhar, United States; William Alfred Fowler, United States.

1982 -- Kenneth G. Wilson, United States.

1981 -- Nicolaas Bloembergen, United States; Arthur Leonard Schawlow, United States; Kai M. Siegbahn, Sweden.

1980 -- James Watson Cronin, United States; Val Logsdon Fitch, United States.

1979 -- Sheldon Lee Glashow, United States; Abdus Salam, Pakistan; Steven Weinberg, United States.

1978 -- Pyotr Leonidovich Kapitsa, U.S.S.R.; Arno Allan Penzias, United States; Robert Woodrow Wilson, United States.

1977 -- Philip Warren Anderson, United States; Sir Nevill Francis Mott, United Kingdom; John Hasbrouck van Vleck, United States.

1976 -- Burton Richter, United States; Samuel Chao Chung Ting, United States.

1975 -- Aage Niels Bohr, Denmark; Ben Roy Mottelson, Denmark; Leo James Rainwater, United States.

1974 -- Sir Martin Ryle, United Kingdom; Anthony Hewish, United Kingdom.

1973 -- Leo Esaki, Japan; Ivar Glaever, United States; David Josephson, United Kingdom.

1972 -- John Bardeen, United States; Leon Neil Cooper, United States; John Robert Schrieffer, United States.

1971 -- Dennis Gabor, United Kingdom.

1970 -- Hannes Olof Goesta Alfven, Sweden; Eugene Felix Neel, France.

1969 -- Murray Gell-Mann, United States.

1968 -- Luis Walter Alvarez, United States.

1967 -- Hans Albrecht Bethe, United States.

1966 -- Alfred Kastler, France.

1965 -- Sin-Itiro Tomonaga, Japan; Julian Schwinger, United States; Richard P. Feynman, United States.

1964 -- Charles Hard Townes, United States; Nicolay Gennadiyevich, U.S.S.R.; Aleksandr Mikhailovich Prokorov, U.S.S.R.

1963 -- Eugene Paul Wigner, United States; Maria Goeppert-Mayer United States; J. Hans D. Jensen, Germany.

1962 -- Lev Davidovich Landau, U.S.S.R.

1961 -- Robert Hofstater, United States; Rudolf Ludwig Mossbauer, Germany.

1960 -- Donald Arthur Glaser, United States.

1959 -- Emilio Gino Segre, United States; Owen Chamberlain, United States.

1958 -- Pavel Alekseyevich Cherenkov, U.S.S.R.; Il 'ja Mikhailovich Frank, U.S.S.R.; Igor Yevgenyevich Tamm, U.S.S.R.

1957 -- Chen Ning Yang, China; Tsung-Dao Lee, China.

1956 -- William Bradford Shockley, United States; John Bardeen, United States; Walter Houser Brattain, United States.

1955 -- Willis Eugene Lamb, United States; Polykarp Kusch, United States.

1954 -- Max Born, United Kingdom; Walther Bothe, Germany.

1953 -- Frits (Frederik) Zernike, Netherlands.

1952 -- Felix Bloch, United States; Edward Mills Purcell, United States.

1951 -- Sir John Douglas Cockcroft, United Kingdom; Ernest Thomas Sinton Walton, Ireland.

1950 -- Cecil Frank Powell, United Kingdom.

1949 -- Hideki Yukawa, Japan.

1948 -- Patrick Maynard Stuart Blackett, United Kingdom.

1947 -- Sir Edward Victor Appleton, United Kingdom.

1946 -- Percy Williams Bridgeman, United States.

1945 -- Wolfgang Pauli, Austria.

1944 -- Isidor Isaac Rabi, United States.

1943 -- Otto Stern, United States.

1942 -- The prize money was 1/3 allocated to the Main Fund and 2/3 to the Special Fund of this prize section.

1941 -- The prize money was 1/3 allocated to the Main Fund and 2/3 to the Special Fund of this prize section.

1940 -- The prize money was 1/3 allocated to the Main Fund and 2/3 to the Special Fund of this prize section.

1939 -- Ernest Orlando Lawrence, United States.

1938 -- Enrico Fermi, Italy.

1937 -- Clinton Joseph Davisson, United States; George Paget Thomson, United Kingdom.

1936 -- Victor Franz Hess, Austria; Carl David Anderson, United States.

1935 -- James Chadwick, United Kingdom.

1934 -- The prize money was 1/3 allocated to the Main Fund and 2/3 to the Special Fund of this prize section.

1933 -- Erwin Schroedinger, Austria; Paul Arden Maurice Dirac, United Kingdom.

1932 -- Werner Karl Heisenberg, Germany.

1931 -- The prize money was allocated to the Special Fund of this prize section.

1930 -- Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman, India.

1929 -- Prince Louis-Victor Pierre Raymond de Broglie, France.

1928 -- Owen Willans Richardson, United Kingdom.

1927 -- Arthur Holly Compton, United States; Charles Thomson Rees Wilson, United Kingdom.

1926 -- Jean Baptiste Perrin, France.

1925 -- James Franck, Germany; Gustav Ludwig Hertz, Germany.

1924 -- Karl Manne Georg Siegbahn, Sweden.

1923 -- Robert Andrews Millikan, United States.

1922 -- Niels Henrik David Bohr, Denmark.

1921 -- Albert Einstein, Germany and Switzerland.

1920 -- Charles Edouard Guillaume, Switzerland.

1919 -- Johannes Stark, Germany.

1918 -- Max Karl Ernst Ludwig Planck, Germany.

1917 -- Charles Glover Barkla, United Kingdom.

1916 -- The prize money was allocated to the Special Fund for this prize section.

1915 -- Sir William Henry Bragg, United Kingdom; William Lawrence Bragg, United Kingdom.

1914 -- Max von Laue, Germany.

1913 -- Heike Kamerlingh Onnes, Netherlands.

1912 -- Nils Gustaf Dalen, Sweden.

1911 -- Wilhelm Wien, Germany.

1910 -- Johannes Diderik van der Waals, Netherlands.

1909 -- Guglielmo Marconi, Italy; Karl Ferdinand Braun, Germany.

1908 -- Gabriel Lippman, France.

1907 -- Albert Abraham Michelson, United States.

1906 -- Joseph John Thomson, United Kingdom.

1905 -- Philipp Eduard Antno von Lenard, Germany.

1904 -- Lord (John William Strutt) Rayleigh, United Kingdom.

1903 -- Antoine Henri Becquerel, France; Pierre Curie, France; Marie Curie, France.

1902 -- Hendrik Antoon Lorentz, Netherlands; Pieter Zeeman, Netherlands.

1901 -- Wilhelm Conrad Roentgen, Germany.

© 2002 United Press International, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Any reproduction, republication, redistribution and/or modification of any UPI content is expressly prohibited without UPI's prior written consent.
Most Popular
Pakistan seeks coastal patrol cutters from U.S. Pakistan seeks coastal patrol cutters from U.S.
Work moves ahead on two new guided missile destroyers Work moves ahead on two new guided missile destroyers
U.S. Navy authorizes building of Common Missile Compartment tubes U.S. Navy authorizes building of Common Missile Compartment tubes
Slovak military orders C-27J Spartans Slovak military orders C-27J Spartans
Gas capacity added to North Dakota shale Gas capacity added to North Dakota shale
Trending News
Around the Web